If you were recently pulled over for a first offense DUI in Colorado, you are undoubtedly anxious and uncertain about what will happen. You may be wondering, what can you do to reduce the charge or your potential exposure at sentencing? While the legislature leaves little wiggle room for discretion by the prosecutor or judge, there are certain things you can do to remedy or reduce the consequences of a DUI in Colorado, even as a first offense. We know how to defeat these allegations at The Ferrell Law Firm, PLLC.
First DUI Offense, Colorado Penalties
The penalties for even a first-offense DUI in Colorado are steep and become increasingly harsh from there.
A DUI in Colorado, first offense conviction, is punishable by the following:
- Five days but up to one year in jail;
- A fine between $600 and $1,000;
- Nine-month driver’s license revocation;
- Installation of an ignition interlock device; and
- Community service.
The minimum jail sentence becomes mandatory if your BAC is 0.20% or higher.
The first step in beating a DUI is to prepare and arm yourself with knowledge. The best way to do this is to speak with an experienced DUI lawyer and assess your options.
Remedy the Consequences
Of course, as attorneys, the goal is always to have the charges dismissed or to get an acquittal for the client, but sometimes that is not possible. In that situation, it is your attorney’s job to advocate for leniency at sentencing. The judge will consider both mitigating and aggravating factors at the time of sentencing. The more mitigating factors you have in your favor, the better. If you can show the court that you are remorseful, have learned from your mistakes, and want to address your addiction (if you have one), you may get a more favorable sentence.
DUI and Alcohol Education
One thing you can do to help your case is to enroll in alcohol or DUI education. Level I and Level II education courses in Colorado can be completed depending on your eligibility. Generally, for a first DUI offense, level I education is appropriate and consists of 12 hours of education over a minimum of three days (you cannot complete more than four hours in one day).
Completing a MADD Victim Impact Program
Since 1980, Mothers Against Drunk Drivers (MADD) has played a large part in helping keep our communities safe from drunk and drugged drivers. The Victim Impact Panel (VIP) program was initiated to help offenders recognize and understand the lasting consequences of substance-impaired driving. The purpose of the class is to deter and prevent future offenses.
At a VIP, victims, survivors, and others impacted by drunk driving crashes can speak briefly about their loved one injured or killed by a drunk driver. These programs are offered nationwide, and you can find more information about the local VIP here.
DUI in Colorado: First-Offense Attorneys Ready to Fight for You
If you are facing a DUI, do not take your chances representing yourself, even on a first offense. Contact the experienced DUI lawyers at The Ferrell Law Firm, PLLC, today for a free, confidential consultation.